top of page

Recital 2020: Post Performance Reflection / What Have We Learnt

Always


Always


Always test your tracks in the space AND test your stems after you export!! First I'll address the volumes levels: the side speakers were way too low which I think is due to me not really being sure how it would sit in the space. So the idea with the ending section is that these other sounds kind of move around the booms of the spire n the middle. It was tough because I made them way too quiet and didn't know how to fix it on the day so I kind of gave up.. If I had tested it before the day I would have realised and fixed the situation, totally my bad.


Secondly THOSE GODDAMN FLIPPING CLICKS ARE HAUNTING ME! I had these clicks appear in my track about half way through the semester and I'd spent the whole rest of the semester trying to get them out. It turned out to be an effect playing up, or so I thought.. They're not in my session, not in my master and not in my stems (which I didn't check before I brought them - very risky, I know better now). Even if I had checked them, the clicks aren't there though so I'm not sure what was happening last night but my music is noisey enough that it didn't really matter that much, I just think it's better without which is a shame.


Some people were telling me the clicks were their favourite part!


One other unintentional effect of the volume levels was this kind of really centred feeling. Like the middle speakers kind of dominated and made this very physical kind of sculptural idea. I think I will use this going forward - different speaker set ups create different effects + you can manipulate with the amount that speaker is playing :O Sometimes you gotta go with your mistakes.


My favourite thing was the voice parts. I think they sounded great, my vocal mixing is improving a lot and I have Elise to thank for that.



Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page